Scotland Committee

Scottiosh Referendum

Scotland Committee

Prospect’s Scotland Committee is overseeing the process of providing advice and information to members living and working in Scotland about the issues that could arise as a result of the 2014 referendum on Scotland’s future.

The committee was set up by our National Executive Committee as a result of motions to the union’s 2013 national conference. Its role is to oversee the formulation of an action plan to ensure that members can make informed decisions when voting in the referendum as regards what this will mean for them as workers.

Each committee member has the task of leading and co-ordinating a working group from their specialist area:

Name Sector Branch
Gordon McNab Aviation ATSS
John Brown (Busta) Defence Babcock Marine Clyde
Tommy Doherty Education Aspect
David Simpson Energy Regional Branch
Andy Stewart Environment Forestry Commission
David Avery Government Scottish Government
Scott Maciver Health and Safety HSE
Graeme Walker Heritage Scottish Natural Heritage
Clive Davey Science SAC
David Horsburgh Telecoms Connect – BT West of Scotland
Bobby Carson NEC member Magnox
Satnam Ner NEC member Rosyth Royal Dockyard
Craig Marshall (Chair) NEC member EDF Energy
Anne Douglas (Secretary) Prospect National Secretary  

Prospect is not politically affiliated and the committee will uphold this neutral stance during its work.

The committee meets quarterly; the minutes of each meeting are published below. Meeting dates for 2013/14 are:

  • Monday 2 December
  • Wednesday 19 February
  • Friday 2 May
  • Friday 6 June
  • September [post referendum; date TBC]

Committee documents

There are no documents matching the specified criteria