Prospect union and MPs call on employers to meet the cost of EU workers’ ‘settled status’ application

Prospect union and MPs call on employers to meet the cost of EU workers’ ‘settled status’ application

Over a dozen MPs sign Prospect letter to Immigration Minister

EU referendum

Prospect union and a number of MPs from different parties have written to Immigration Minister Caroline Nokes urging her to give some much-needed clarity and support to EU workers settled in the UK. The signatories, including Chuka Umunna, Layla Moran, Carol Monaghan and Daniel Zeichner are calling for the government, agencies and other employers to foot the £65 bill for workers applying for EU Settled Status.

So far just 650 of an estimated 3.5 million who will require ‘settled status’ have been processed. The letter expresses deep concern about ‘the mounting confusion about additional checks and barriers that may be introduced for EU citizens working in the UK as a result of the ‘settled status’ scheme not being rolled out in time.’

Employers such as the Scottish Government, the University of Cambridge, the Natural History Museum, and the Building Research Establishment have already committed to meet the £65 charge per application.

Sue Ferns, Prospect’s senior deputy general secretary, said:

“Many sectors of the UK economy rely on workers from the EU, particularly sectors like science and innovation which drive growth.

“It is shameful that the UK government, having promised to protect the rights of EU citizens working here before 2019, is failing to live up to its commitment.

“The government should immediately commit to meeting the cost of settled status applications for all EU citizens working for the public sector and publically encourage private sector employers to do the same.

“EU citizens deserve much better than the uncertainty and confusion they have been subjected to as a result of the Brexit negotiations.”


Full list of signatories:

Daniel Zeichner MP

Carol Monaghan MP

Anna McMorrin MP

Helen Hayes MP

Mike Gapes MP

Wes Streeting MP

Liz Kendall MP

Layla Moran MP

Andrew Slaughter MP

Seema Malhotra MP

Ruth Cadbury MP

Gareth Thomas MP

Chuka Umunna MP

Ellie Reeves MP